Expressindia> Sports
Group Websites
Indian Express
Financial Express


Font Size - -A+A

Kohli fashions India's win against Bangladesh


Posted: Jan 11, 2010 at 2041 hrs IST

Mirpur (Bangladesh): In-form Virat Kohli hammered his second ODI ton to script India's facile six-wicket victory over Bangladesh in a dead rubber of the ongoing tri-series.

With India and Sri Lanka having already booked their place in Wednesday's final, today's match was of merely academic interest.

India first restricted the hosts to 247 for six and then chased down the target with seven overs to spare.

Dinesh Karthik (34) and Gautam Gambhir (41) gave India another brisk 64-run start before Kohli took over to complete the formality in Suresh Raina's (18) company.

Kohli's unbeaten 95-ball 102 included 11 hits to the fence.

Batting on 94, Kohli hit back-to-back fours off Shakib Al Hasan to reach his century and score the winning runs.

Chasing a modest 248, India got just the kind of start they needed with Karthik and Gambhir finding boundaries at regular intervals.

Karthik sent the first ball of the second powerplay -- Abdur Razzak was the bowler -- out of the park before perishing caught behind in the next over.

As if to take revenge, Gambhir hit Shafiul for three fours on the trot in his next over before Naeem Islam breached his gate.

Rate this article
Post Comment :
Name * Message *
Email ID *
Subject *
The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any person (s) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).
I agree to the terms of use.
© 2012 The Indian Express Limited. All rights reserved
The Indian Express Group | Advertise With Us | Privacy Policy | Feedback | Work With Us | Site Map